One2One with Lyndsey Harrison!

Hello!

So this post is following on from my most recent post which can be found here!

If you’ve not read that post to give you a little round up I’ve been following Lyndsey Harrison’s work since studying at Leeds City College, studying my BTEC Diploma in Performing Arts. Roughly that must be about 6 years ago now (2011) which is mind blowing.
I first discovered Lyndsey’s work after she was mentioned by Sam Chapman (Pixiwoo) in a Youtube Video. When researching Lyndsey’s work, encouraged by Sam, I then discovered she was working Behind The Scenes of TOWIE, glamming up the girls for their on screen appearances. Being a lover of the glam make-up and TOWIE, it was a non brainer that I became a follower of Lyndsey’s work and spoke to her a few times over the years.
Lyndsey now works daily with Celebrities such as Charlotte Crosby, Denise Van Outen, Lydia Bright, Sam and Billie Faiers to name a few!

Finally last Saturday I was able to meet Lyndsey in person, as my parents had booked a One to One lesson with her as part of my Christmas Present, it was just down to me to organise it all! So I thought I would share with you a little review/ insight of the day, without giving too much away!

After contacting Lyndsey over email and Lyndsey offering me a selection of varied dates, I opted for a Saturday and Lyndsey’s timing of 1-3pm suited my travelling needs perfectly. As I would be travelling from Leeds – Marlow.
Sorting out payment prior with Lyndsey was so efficient and easy. A bonus was the button on the email which came with the invoice which had the option to ‘send a notification’ after payment had been done, which was super handy!

On Saturday Morning I was greeted by a text from Lyndsey, whilst on my way down and took the opportunity to tell her I would be arriving much earlier than 1pm, due to the Sat Nav taking us a different route to which we had originally planned. Lyndsey offered to start the One2One half an hour earlier, putting me first, which I was so grateful for! To pass the time on Lyndsey suggested I venture down to the High Street, which was an amazing high street – you don’t get these types of highstreet’s up north! I’m talking about your Space NK, Jack Wills, WHSmiths, Zizzi’s plus loads more on a HIGH STREET. Everything you could ever need. After grabbing some Fish and Chips and wandering back to the car it was time to head to the One to One… Eeek!

Lyndsey’s studio is so easy to find with a private car park, it’s so beautiful, so clean and so organised, every girl’s dream. Her studio is decorated with magazine cuttings and beautiful images of her celebrity clients and friends, which made a great inspiring work environment to be in!

Lyndsey made me feel so comfortable, having to do make-up in front of a celebrity make-up artist can be a daunting experience, but don’t let this put you off, Lyndsey’s persona is very calming and laid back which helps to put you at ease and really gets the best out of you. Lyndsey really listened to what I wanted to gain and tailored the lesson to suit, giving industry advice and tips throughout. The 2 hours passed by so quickly!
We decided on a glamorous type make-up which Lyndsey regularly creates on her celeb clients. Lyndsey explained how this would be beneficial for me to learn as I could recreate on clients as well on photo shoots and would be beneficial for me and in my portfolio. In which I agree.
Lyndsey did one half of my face and I mirrored on the other side, after each step. Ideally it would have been great and much easier to have a model to use, however coming down from Leeds and choosing a Saturday Afternoon didn’t leave me much choice!
Putting this aside I still got as much out of it as I thought I would. Using products from my own kit along with my own brushes, was so handy.
I have also come away with knowledge of new products and up to date industry techniques to add to my kit in future.
The freedom and encouragement to take photos throughout is a bonus and a great way to remember the day too!
If you are thinking about booking in with Lyndsey, I would highly recommend even with a First Class Honours Degree in Media Makeup with Special Effects, I still came away learning new techniques with confidence. It really is worth the money!
Below are a few pictures of the make-up!
img_0897-2
img_0896-2
img_0891-2
Products Used:
– Urban Decay ‘All nighter’ Foundation
– Becca Pistachio Green Colour Corrector & Peach Colour Corrector
– Becca Under Eye Brightener
– Tarte Creaseless Concealer
– MAC Prep & Prime Powder
– MAC Paint Pot ‘Painterley’
– MAC Fluidline Brow GelCreme ‘Dirty Blonde’ & ‘TRUE Brunette’
– Anastasia Beverly Hills Powder Contour Kit ‘Medium Tan’
– MAC ‘Soft & Gentle’ & ‘Global Glow’ Highlighter
– MAC Fluidline Gel Liner
– MAC Warm Eye Shadow Palette
– Lord and Berry Brown Eyeliner Pencil
– Lancome Hypnose Black Mascara
– Kiko Cosmetics Lip Pencil
– Lord and Berry Skin Lip Gloss
– Doll Lash False Eyelashes
Thank you for reading & thank you again Lyndsey,
ruth-brabiner-logo-strapline
Leave a Reply

