How to: Fill in Brows with Gel

Eyebrows
Whats a brow gel?
A brow gel is usually a cream or gel formulated product which comes in a small pot to be used on the brows. The gels usually tend to be very pigmented in a variety of colours, meaning a little bit goes a very long way, perfect!

Brow gels are brilliant for their staying power, some are formulated to be water and smudge resistant, so will last all day even if you do suffer with oily skin or work up a lil sweat throughout the day! Once on they give a matte finish and set in place, but if you prefer you can always layer your favourite brow powder on top for extra hold and definition.

Products I have used:
– Lancôme Effacernes Longue Ternes concealer   (01)
– Illamasqua Brow Gel (Awe)
– Illamasqua Angled Brush

 

How I fill in my brows, 5 simple steps…

1.
img_0076
I start by applying my complexion make-up to my face and eyes. For this look I have used Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H Foundation in shade 005 and Lancome Effacernes Longue Ternes Concealer in shade 01. I then set this in place using Lancome Colour Ideal Powder (now discontinued). I find applying my base first makes filling my brows easy as it looks neater, and its easier to work the gel onto of the foundation as it goes on smoother.
2.
img_0079
Next I like to brush my eyebrows through using a spoolie brush. The one in the picture above I am using an old Anastasia Brow Wiz Pencil, as I really like the brush on the end. The grooves are very small and work well in coming any product out of my brows. This step is key!
3.
img_0080
Then I move onto using the brow gel. The gel I have used above is the Illamasqua Brow Gel in shade ‘Awe’ which is a taupe brown colour, making it the perfect shade for me. I find the perfect brush for this is the Illamasqua angled brush, as its the thinnest angled brush I’ve found and works perfectly for me.
I like to scoop a small amount of the gel onto the back of my hand. I find this way the product becomes more pliable and applies smoother, due to it being warmed up on the back of my hand opposed to being used straight from a cold pot.
I start by drawing the line underneath my brow and follow my brows natural shape and feather it out towards the end, so the brow looks more natural and tapered. .
4.
img_0082
Then I move onto using the same technique to draw the upper half of my brow. Again, I follow my brows natural shape to fill the brow in. At this point I focus on filling in the brow by 2/3’s, the middle & outer section. I tend to not focus on the start of my brow at this stage.
5.
img_0084
Finally, at this stage I do not put any more product on to my brush. I use whatever is left on the brush and feather this product into the start of my brow. I don’t have much brow hair here, so I do need to particularly careful, as I don’t want it to look too ‘blocky’ and harsh.

 

What gel products do you swear by? – Let me know!

ruth-brabiner-logo-strapline

2 comments

Leave a Reply

